News and Events

Here's what's happening with OCAAJO and our Members ...

      Meet the Candidates Running for
     Orange County Superior Court Judge!

             Register here:  

April 26, 2022  
Judicial Seats, 5, 9, 11, 21 and 22

May 3, 2022
Judicial Seats 28, 30, 33 and 45

  5:30 p.m. -7:30 p.m.     via Zoom

Registration closes  Monday April 25, 2022 at 5:00 p.m.

                  OCAAJO and the
      OCBA Masters Division Present

                 Then and Now:
How the Diversity Landscape has  Changed Over the Years in the Orange County Legal Community

                   May 4, 2022 
    5:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.  via Zoom

Register online at

OCAAJO Life Member
Judge Fred Slaughter's nomination to the  Federal District Court for the Central District of California is confirmed by the United States Senate, March 17, 2022!

Congratulations District Court Judge Slaughter!

Judge Maurice Sanchez's nomination to the  Fourth District Court of Appeal, Div. 3., is confirmed by the California Commission on Judicial Appointments January 6, 2022!

Congratulations Justice Sanchez!

OCAAJO President
Judge Karen L. Robinson is elected  President of the California Judges Foundation 2022-2023.  Administered by the CJA staff and supervised by a nine-person Board of Directors, the California Judges Foundation  is dedicated to educating the public about the importance of an impartial judiciary for the administration of Justice in California.

Congratulations Judge Robinson!

OCAAJO Vice President
Judge Elizabeth G. Macias is awarded the 2021 CJA Justice Bernard Jefferson Excellence in Education Award for her work with co-awardee LA Judge Nicole Bershon on the CJA Diversity & Inclusivity Committee!  She also is named CRF-OC's 2021 James P. Gray Judge of the Year!

Congratulations Judge Macias! 

United States Bankruptcy Judge
Erithe Smith is named
OCWLA's 2021 Judge of the Year
The award ceremony was October 19, 2021

Congratulations Judge Smith!

Commissioner Scott Van Camp
is elevated by Governor Gavin Newsom, September 3, 2021, and is appointed Orange County Superior Court Judge

Congratulations Judge Van Camp!

Commissioner Carmen Luege
is elevated by Governor Gavin Newsom, March 25, 2021, and is appointed Orange County Superior Court Judge

Congratulations Judge Luege!

            Thank you! 
 ... for j
oining us October 28, 2021  for the encore presentation of Justice Eileen Moore's "Race Results" program. Her use of  Hollywood film clips and U.S. Supreme Court cases over the decades to examine the treatment of  African Americans by Hollywood and the High Court was enlightening and informative! 

On September 21, 2021, OCAAJO co-sponsored the OCBA's Racial Justice Task Force, Diversity & Inclusion Committee and Affiliate Bar Associations' Webinar on Intersectionality: Personal Stories of Navigating Implicit Bias & Solutions. The Panel featured OCAAJO  President, Judge Karen L. Robinson, Vice President, Judge Elizabeth Macias and Member at Large, Judge Tam Nomoto Schumann Ret.

Thank you for tuning in to the program!

Thank you for joining us at our first Community
Town Hall - June 24, 2021

And thank you to our Panelists:
OC Assistant Presiding Judge
Maria Hernandez
OC District Attorney
Todd Spitzer
OC Pubic Defender
Martin Schwarz
OC Sheriff
Don Barnes         

OCAAJO co-sponsors OCWLA's Diversity on the Bench panel featuring
OCAAJO President Judge Karen L. Robinson, OCAAJO Vice President Judge Elizabeth G. Macias and Judge Joanne Motoike [not pictured]

May 14, 2021

OCAAJO issues
Statement Denouncing
attacks on AAPI Community

Read the full Statement below.


1133 Camelback Street, Unit 11464
Newport Beach, CA, 92658, US

About us

We are a dynamic group of state and federal, sitting and retired Orange County, CA  judicial officers from diverse backgrounds  who are devoted to the mission of the Association.

Follow us